The Ipswich Society’s 60th Birthday Photographic Competition: Call for entries

The Ipswich Society invites members and non-members of the Society to enter our Diamond Anniversary competition to celebrate Ipswich in all its variety: its buildings, environment and open spaces. It is open to photographers of all ages. The rules are very simple and the selected images will be part of a special exhibition in October 2020.


How to enter

1.  Each entrant may submit up to five photographs which have been taken between January 2017 and the closing date (July 1, 2020). There is no entrance fee.

2.  Photographs must be submitted by email to:

(This email address replaces the earlier submission email address.)

If you have any problem emailing the images, let us know.)

3.  Please submit each photograph separately, in this format, one per email:

Jpeg format (high resolution); max. largest dimension: 40cm; 200dpi.

(Larger image files will be requested if selected.)


Each image should be accompanied by :-

[adults] your name, postal address, phone number and email address;

[under-18s] your name and age. A parent/guardian must submit entries on your behalf and include their own name, postal address, phone number and email address;


  • the title (if any),
  • location,
  • subject,
  • date of the photograph.

The Society will award 1st, 2nd and 3rd awards to the winners, plus an award in the Under-18 category on Thursday 1 October 2020. The judges’ decision is final and we reserve the right to refuse photographs. Costs of printing/mounting the selected entries will be borne by The Ipswich Society.


By entering this competition you are consenting to the use of the photograph (if selected) in an exhibition and possible use in The Ipswich Society’s Newsletter and Facebook page. Submitted photographs will be added to the Society’s Image Archive on the Flickr website. All selected entries will be credited to the photographer, who will retain copyright.

If you have any questions or require further information, please email our Hon. Secretary: